Academy Committee Members 2019-20

Scroll to the end for a table listing all members         

John Bellasis

Foundation Governor


Appointed 2017, appointed chair in 2020

Freight Transport has been the theme of my career and it involves more than you might think. I was awarded a Certificate in Management by the Open University to enhance my experience as a Commercial Manager. Prior to that I was a Systems Analyst designing and writing high level computer programs. I have had some involvement with National Vocational Qualifications as an Assessor and an External Verifier and I relate my experiences in this with coaching. For a short time I ran my own manufacturing business making gutters for large premises, and this required expertise in forecasting, budgeting, costing and monitoring.  In addition, I have driven trucks at a class 1 level, and this kind of work requires effort, accuracy and a great deal of consideration.

Sally Reckless

Foundation Governor


Appointed 2014, renewed 2018

Becky Considine

Parent Governor

Elected Sept 2018

I believe as one of the Parent Governors’ I am a voice for the parents and carers of St Thomas More. Independent of this, I run my own business that helps other businesses with administrative tasks. I have two children in the school and manage my work around my family. I am passionate about helping out within the school, getting to know the children, parents and carers. Over the last few years I have taken the time to help children particularly within KS1 with assisted reading. I also spend a fair amount of time working on various projects with the Friends of St Thomas More, implementing fundraising events for the school. The school is wonderful, but there is always room for improvement and I feel honoured in helping the school to achieve its goals.

Anna Capilli Francis

Foundation Governor

Appointed 2017


Paige Newmark

Parent Governor

Elected Sept 2018

Lucy Hampton

Staff Governor

Appointed 2017

I am a Reception Teacher and the Foundation Stage Coordinator at St Thomas More School. I have always had a passion for Early Years and have worked as a Nursery Nurse and Nanny before training to become a teacher. I am always striving for the best possible outcomes for young children and this is why I decided to become a Staff Governor; so that I could help to ensure that St Thomas More School gives all children the opportunity to reach their full potential.


Sophie Upellini

Staff Governor

Appointed 2017

Rhian Pye


Sept 2019

Julia Hamper


Chair of the Curriculum Committee

Appointed 2017 (Position paused as currently teaching in school from Sept 19-Dec 19)

Chris Robins


June 2018

Chris Robins first became a Governor of St Thomas More School in 2001.  Originally appointed by the County Council, he has continued serve as an independent observer since the transition to Academy status.  He is retired from the civil service, before which he had experience as a manager in the then National Bus Company.  He served as a Kidlington Parish Councillor from 1995 to 2015.  He has been part of the editorial team of the local magazine Kidlington News since 2005.  He is very active in Kidlington Baptist Church, of which he is currently a trustee, member of the leadership team and Treasurer.  He is actively involved in ecumenical working between different churches, and is currently Treasurer of Churches Together in Oxfordshire.

Judy East


Foundation Governor Vacancy

Contact the school or email if you would like to know more about becoming a school governor.

Foundation Governor Vacancy

Contact the school or email if you would like to know more about becoming a school governor.



Eamonn Bennett

Previous Parent and Co-opted Governor-left

Emma Rhodes

Previous Parent Governor -Left July 2018

Gabriel Nicolaou

Previous Co-Opted Governor – Left July 2018

Stephen Finn

Previous Foundation Chair of the Finance/Committee – Left July 2018


Our Committee                         

  Name                        Role



Date Joined







Breda Bowles Principal Sept 2015  Leadership
John Bellasis F Vice-Chair (taking the Chair Jan 2020)

Catholic Life & Collective Worship, Safeguarding

Oct 2016 Management, education, Catholicity, RE Induction (Oxford 3/17 and Diocese 1/17)

Finance 5/18

Preparing for Ofsted 4/18

Section 48 3/18



Sally Reckless    F  Chair (moving to Vice in Jan 2020)

SEN, Religious Education, Whistleblowing

June 2014 renewed 2018 Healthcare, Management, Parent Induction 1/15

Finance 9/14

Preparing for Ofsted 5/17

Section 48 3/18

Chair 1/17

HT Appraisal 3/17

Engaging Parent 6/17

SEN 5/17

Anna Capilli-Francis F  

Curriculum, Parish Link

Oct 2016 Organisational, Parish links, PTA, Parent Induction /18

New Ofsted /19


Lucy Coleman S Curriculum March 2017 Education, Well-being, Policy Review Preparing for Ofsted 5/17

Engaging Parent 6/17

Section 48 3/18

Becky Considine P Resources Aug 2018 Organisational, coordination, PTA, Parent Induction 9/18

New Ofsted /19

Engaging Parent 6/17

Paige Newmark P Catholicity/Curriculum Aug 2018 Education, Arts, Drama, Parent Induction 9/18


Julia Hamper C Curriculum Sept 2017 (Position held while teaching Sept 2019) Education, leadership
Sophie Upellini S Resources/Staffing June 2017 Organisational, Finances, Health and Safety Section 48 3/18
Rhian Pye C Curriculum Sept 2019 Education, Science, Parent Induction /19
Chris Robins C Resources Sept  2012O/June 2018C Previous councillor, finance Section 48 3/18
Judy East Clerk to the Committee
Eamonn Bennett P Previous Parent Governor July 2018 (kitchen project)    
Emma Rhodes P Previous Parent Governor July 2018 (term finished)    
Nicola Rogan F Previous Chair Jan  2018 (Stepped down)    
Susan Pollard S Previous Staff Governor Sept 2017(Stepped down)    
Vacancies   4 Foundation Governors As of Sept 2019    
F: Foundation P: Parent C: Co-opted  S: Staff  O: Observer