Governors are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality of education. Together with the Headteacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, they set the school’s aims and policies.

St Thomas More Catholic Primary School is managed by the Pope Francis Multi Academy Company, and the Local Governing Body at St Thomas More is accountable to the main Board of Directors at the PFMAC.

Governors have three main roles:

  • To provide strategic direction for the school
  • To act as critical friend to the Headteacher
  • To ensure accountability


They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school’s budget is spent
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff
  • Hearing appeals and grievances
  • Forming policy on the school’s curriculum and collective worship
  • Setting standards for pupils’ behaviour and discipline
  • Making sure the school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring the school’s aims and policies


The Local Governing Body at St Thomas More School currently consists of:

Foundation Governors

Anna Capilli Francis (Chair)

John Bellasis (Vice Chair)

Shirin Kumar

Sofia Massa

Marta Navas Mir

Janice Relano

Alison Templer

Staff Governor

Rania Naser

Parent Governors

Becky Considine

Paige Newmark

Co-Opted Governors

Rhian Pye

Chris Robins

Interim Headteacher

Breda Bowles



Previous Governors (resigned in the last 12 months):

Mick Quigley (left January 2022)

Mary-Claire Hardie (left November 2021)

Sue Tomkys (left March 2021)


Further Information


If you would like to view a copy of the minutes or other documents from a Governor meeting, please contact the school office on  To contact the Chair of Governors, please use